Wimbledon is among the most well-known and renowned tennis tournaments in the world, if not the most respected. For anyone who doesn't follow tennis, it might be hard to discuss anything with any tennis-loving relatives or friends whenever the wraps fly off at the All England Club in June or July. This article is a useful guide that will teach you everything you need to understand about Wimbledon in order to appear knowledgeable. Or at the very least, informed. For the total Wimbledon newcomer, here's a quick rundown.

The Four Grand Slam Tennis Tournaments

The Grand Slams are the highly coveted rewards in tennis, with tournaments held throughout the year on a variety of surfaces as well as in a variety of nations. They are as follows:
  • The Australian Open is a tournament held in Australia (hard court).
  • The French Open is a tennis tournament held in France (clay court).
  • Wimbledon is a tennis tournament that takes place in England (grass court).
  • US Open Championships in the United States (hard court).
Wimbledon is known as a Grand Slam event in the tennis world. The event is one of four major competitions held each year. These 4 events mark the pinnacle of pro tennis, as they provide the maximum prize money and ranking points. These Grand Slam tournaments take place in various nations and on various surfaces. The only major championship played on grass is Wimbledon, which takes place in London, England. Wimbledon is often regarded as the most prestigious title in tennis, owing to its long track record, tradition, and ties to the sport's very beginnings.

The Background

The location Wimbledon (aka the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club) is not just about tennis, as its name suggests. In 1869, it was established solely for the purpose of croquet. Tennis grew in popularity quickly, and the inaugural tournament was staged 8 years afterwards, in July 1877. A rented field on Wimbledon's Worple Road served as the venue for the first few years of the Championships until settling in its current location on Church Road in 1922. Many individuals worried that the new facility, which could hold 13,500 people when it started, would have been too huge and be an embarrassment. They were completely incorrect. Wimbledon was the BBC's first live sports coverage when it launched in 1937, with 30 minutes of Centre Court play per day. Thousands of individuals in north London who lived near the transmitters and had access to a television tuned in.

Heroes from the hometown

Even though Wimbledon is seen as the archetypal British championship, the Gentlemen's Singles are unsuccessful when it comes to local players. Until Andy Murray won the All England Club championship in 2013, there was a 77-year title drought, dating back to Fred Perry's 1936 success. Wimbledon as well as the other four "Majors" were exclusively open to novice players until 1968, with pro players barred from competing. The professional player movement into the main events was a defining event at the start of what became known as the “Open Era” of tennis. In order to reduce weather-related delays, a retractable cover was installed on Centre Court in 2009.

The Tournaments

It's all here, from Men's Singles through Ladies' Wheelchair Doubles. Although the first Wimbledon was held solely for males, today's Wimbledon has a variety of tournaments that cater to a wide range of participants. As of 2016, the following events have occurred:
  • Disabled Doubles
  • Boys’ Doubles
  • Girls’ Doubles
  • Boys’ Singles
  • Gentlemen’s Singles
  • Ladies’ Singles
  • Girls’ Singles
  • Gentlemen’s Doubles
  • Mixed Doubles
  • Ladies Doubles
There are 5 invitational events in addition to the normal tournaments. These are the following:
  • Senior Gentlemen’s Invitational Doubles
  • Gentlemen's Invitational Doubles
  • Gentlemen’s Wheelchair Doubles
  • Ladies’ Invitational Doubles
  • Ladies’ Wheelchair Doubles

Now let us take a look at all the winners of Wimbledon Men's singles:

Year Winner
2019 Novak Djokovic
2018 Novak Djokovic
2017 Roger Federer
2016 Andy Murray
2015 Novak Djokovic
2014 Novak Djokovic
2013 Andy Murray
2012 Roger Federer
2011 Novak Djokovic
2010 Rafael Nadal
2009 Roger Federer
2008 Rafael Nadal
2007 Roger Federer
2006 Roger Federer
2005 Roger Federer
2004 Roger Federer
2003 Roger Federer
2002 Lleyton Hewitt
2001 Goran Ivanišević
2000 Pete Sampras
1999 Pete Sampras
1998 Pete Sampras
1997 Pete Sampras
1996 Richard Krajicek
1995 Pete Sampras
1994 Pete Sampras
1993 Pete Sampras
1992 Andre Agassi
1991 Michael Stich
1990 Stefan Edberg
1989 Boris Becker
1988 Stefan Edberg
1987 Pat Cash
1986 Boris Becker
1985 Boris Becker
1984 John McEnroe
1983 John McEnroe
1982 Jimmy Connors
1981 John McEnroe
1980 Björn Borg
1979 Björn Borg
1978 Björn Borg
1977 Björn Borg
1976 Björn Borg
1975 Arthur Ashe
1974 Jimmy Connors
1973 Jan Kodeš
1972 Stan Smith
1971 John Newcombe
1970 John Newcombe
1969 Rod Laver
1968 Rod Laver
1967 John Newcombe
1966 Manuel Santana
1965 Roy Emerson
1964 Roy Emerson
1963 Chuck McKinley
1962 Rod Laver
1961 Rod Laver
1960 Neale Fraser
1959 Alex Olmedo
1958 Ashley Cooper
1957 Lew Hoad
1956 Lew Hoad
1955 Tony Trabert
1954 Jaroslav Drobný
1953 Vic Seixas
1952 Frank Sedgman
1951 Dick Savitt
1950 Budge Patty
1949 Ted Schroeder
1948 Bob Falkenburg
1947 Jack Kramer
1946 Yvon Petra
1940-1945 No Wimbledon due to World War 2
1939 Bobby Riggs
1938 Don Budge
1937 Don Budge
1936 Fred Perry
1935 Fred Perry
1934 Fred Perry
1933 Jack Crawford
1932 Ellsworth Vines
1931 Sidney Wood
1930 Bill Tilden
1929 Henri Cochet
1928 René Lacoste
1927 Henri Cochet
1926 Jean Borotra
1925 René Lacoste
1924 Jean Borotra
1923 Bill Johnston
1922 Gerald Patterson
1921 Bill Tilden
1920 Bill Tilden
1919 Gerald Patterson
1915-1918 No Wimbledon due to World War 1
1914 Norman Brookes
1913 Anthony Wilding
1912 Anthony Wilding
1911 Anthony Wilding
1910 Anthony Wilding
1909 Arthur Gore
1908 Arthur Gore
1907 Norman Brookes
1906 Laurence Doherty
1905 Laurence Doherty
1904 Laurence Doherty
1903 Laurence Doherty
1902 Laurence Doherty
1901 Arthur Gore
1900 Reginald Doherty
1899 Reginald Doherty
1898 Reginald Doherty
1897 Reginald Doherty
1896 Harold Mahony
1895 Wilfred Baddeley
1894 Joshua Pim
1893 Joshua Pim
1892 Wilfred Baddeley
1891 Wilfred Baddeley
1890 Willoughby Hamilton
1889 William Renshaw
1888 Ernest Renshaw
1887 Herbert Lawford
1886 William Renshaw
1885 William Renshaw
1884 William Renshaw
1883 William Renshaw
1882 William Renshaw
1881 William Renshaw
1880 John Hartley
1879 John Hartley
1878 Frank Hadow
1877 Spencer Gore

Betting on Wimbledon

Tennis is a very popular sport all around the world, and with that popularity comes the opportunity to place a bet on it. Even if betting on tennis is considerably less complicated than betting on other sports. And Wimbledon betting is simple, and top legal sportsbooks provide a wide range of possibilities. At BritainBet you can find several guides and tips related to sports betting including tennis.